First wave of finalists announced for 2018 Northwest Football Awards

Posted by Damian Leonard Oct 1, 2018 11:40:46 AM

Topics: News,


The first round of finalists for the 2018 Northwest Football Awards have been announced, as the awards mark its eleventh year of recognising the best talent of the beautiful game in the region.

Finalists for the player categories will be announced on Tuesday, 16th October and fans can still cast their votes for their players of the season.

All awards will be announced and presented by the BBC’s Dan Walker at the Northwest Football Awards at The Point, Emirates Old Trafford on Monday, 12th November.

Manchester City’s Pep Guardiola, who led his team to a record breaking 100 points, will face tough opposition from Wigan Athletic’s Paul Cook, Mickey Mellon from Tranmere Rovers and John Coleman of Accrington Stanley for the coveted Manager of the Year award.  The 2017/18 season was unpredented for Northwest football, with managers from across all leagues achieving promotions and enjoying record seasons.

Additionally, a number of clubs will be competing for the fiercely contested Community Club of the Year categories, celebrating Clubs’ significant and important work in their communities. Going head-to-head in the Premier League category is Burnley FC in the Community, Everton in the Community and Manchester City Football Club – City in the Community.

In the all other leagues category, Blackburn Rovers Community Trust take on Bolton Wanderers Community Trust, Preston North End Community and Education Trust, Tranmere Rovers – More Than a Football Club and Wigan Athletic Community Trust.

Other clubs up for honours include, Manchester United Football Club, Liverpool Football Club, Accrington Stanley Football Club and Bolton Wanderers Football Club.

Meanwhile, voting for the Player of the Year and Rising Star categories, along with the Fan TV Channel of the Year, remains open until Friday, 12th October.

Laura Wolfe, speaking on behalf of the Northwest Football Awards said, “This year saw our judging panels facing some really tough decisions.  The quality of the entries was hugely impressive, and the range of work carried out by the clubs in our regions continues to be an example for other clubs to follow.

“We are looking forward to an incredible night celebrating Northwest football on 12th November.”

Fans can still cast their votes now at:



Community Club of the Year – All Other Leagues, in association with the PFA

  • Blackburn Rovers Community Trust
  • Bolton Wanderers Community Trust
  • Preston North End Community and Education Trust
  • Tranmere Rovers – More Than a Football Club
  • Wigan Athletic Community Trust


Community Club of the Year – Premier League, in association with the PFA

  • Burnley FC in the Community
  • Everton in the Community
  • Manchester City Football Club – City in the Community


Community Initiative of the Year, in association with the PFA

  • Bolton Wanderers Community Trust – Coaching 4 Confidence
  • Burnley FC in the Community – Whitehough Outdoor Centre
  • Everton Football Club – Home Is Where The Heart Is
  • Preston North End Community and Education Trust – The Greatest Ever Women’s Football Team: The Dick, Kerr Ladies
  • Wigan Athletic Community Trust – Healthy Hearts


Promoting Inclusion Award, in association with Kick it Out

  • Bootle Bucks Inclusion FC
  • The Everton Family – Positively Promoting Equality and Diversity – Everton Football Club
  • #UnitedandMe – Manchester United Foundation
  • Wigan Athletic FC – Together


Business and Professional Services to Football

  • Niche Sport Media
  • RedStar Education Limited
  • StreamAMG


Best Club Marketing, Sponsorship or Engagement

  • Everton Football Club – Rovio and Everton Football Club
  • Liverpool Football Club – Kop Kids, presented by Joie – Mo Salah Prank
  • Tranmere Rovers – Super White Campaign
  • Wigan Athletic FC – Thousands or Journeys. One Destination.


Fabrice Muamba Award for Outstanding Service to Football Medicine and Performance

  • Paul Caton, Accrington Stanley FC
  • Matt Barrass, Bolton Wanderers Football Club
  • Grant Downie, Manchester City Football Club


Football Journalist of the Year

  • Ciaran Kelly, Manchester Evening News
  • Marc Iles, The Bolton News
  • Matt Scrafton, The Blackpool Gazette


Manager of the Year

  • John Coleman, Accrington Stanley Football Club
  • Pep Guardiola, Manchester City Football Club
  • John Askey, Macclesfield Town Club
  • Micky Mellon, Tranmere Rovers Football Club
  • Paul Cook, Wigan Athletic Football Club

To be revealed on the night

  • Unsung Hero
  • Lifetime Contribution to Northwest Football
  • Impact Award


Player of the Year and Fan TV

  • Finalists to be announced on Tuesday, 16th October.


For more information, to attend or to vote, please visit  Voting for all Player of the Year and Rising Star Award categories closes on Friday, 12th October.

If you need help with your own PR and marketing activities, get in touch with us at Roland Dransfield and we’ll be able to help you out.

Don’t forget to follow us on TwitterLinkedInInstagram and Facebook to stay up-to-date on all things media, marketing and PR.